Em reached into her snoozel skin satchel like a Cheshire cat. “Rog, check this out.”

“Whoa, sweet pea, did you do this?”

“Well, I had a lot of time on those long sea voyages and dad was all for tutoring in the fine arts. What do you think?”

Rog was stunned. Em had never before talked about her painting. “I don’t know what to say. I’ve often seen pictures of Helix Point, but I have to say this rendition is the most gorgeous thing I’ve ever seen. I can’t imagine what this looked like in person,” said Rog.

“Oh Rog, to be on the open sea at night, the southern winds in your hair and the Great Helix setting on the pure crystalline waters just outside of the Nusian peninsula. Oh babe, it just doesn’t get much better than that. Mom always kidded dad about having a mistress. After Helix Point, I knew.”

Rog sat stunned. Having grown up on his father’s ranch he and his brothers had often dreamed of mighty voyages on the open sea. Picture books were about as close as they thought they would ever get.

“Emy, dear, you’ve seen things I only dreamed about as a boy. Do you have more?”

“Back on board, Rog, I’ve got my whole collection. Would you like to see them?”

Paging Commander Rog. Paging Commander Rog. Man your vessel. All indications for an opening imminent.

“That’s it Em, grab your stuff! We ’bout to make things happen darlin’. Snazzle, prepare for launch.”

Commentary:

this is an audio post - click to play
