I have not the words for the outpouring of support our nation and the world has shown. Yesterday I was driving up Franklin road, had my iPod playing Louisiana 1927. At the exact moment (I’m not making this up) as the chorus played Louisiana, Louisiana, they’re tryin to wash us away, I spied to my left a local church busting with activity. Signs everywhere for hurricane relief, parking lot filled with cars. Men, women and children earnestly carrying boxes of supplies inside. If I told you my eyes didn’t fill with tears, tears of togetherness, tears of love, tears of compassion, I would be lying.

The invisible force that holds the universe together, call it love, often is hidden, unseen, forgotten. Yesterday I saw, unexpectedly, on a back road, that love personified. To the nation, to the world, thanks.

___________________________________


500 Miles

If you miss the train I’m on, you will know that I am gone
You can hear the whistle blow a hundred miles,
A hundred miles, a hundred miles, a hundred miles, a hundred miles,
You can hear the whistle blow a hundred miles.

Lord I’m one, lord I’m two, lord I’m three, lord I’m four,
Lord I’m 500 miles from my home.
500 miles, 500 miles, 500 miles, 500 miles
Lord I’m five hundred miles from my home.

Not a shirt on my back, not a penny to my name
Lord I can’t go a-home this a-way
This a-away, this a-way, this a-way, this a-way,
Lord I can’t go a-home this a-way.

If you miss the train I’m on you will know that I am gone
You can hear the whistle blow a hundred miles.

Peter, Paul & Mary
